logo gov.co
Logo Cancillería

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural organization (UNESCO)

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization UNESCO, is an international agency that has the mission of contributing to the consolidation of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and an intercultural communication through education, sciences, culture, communication and information. Currently, UNESCO has 193 member states and six Associate Members.

As part of the United Nations system, all the strategies and activities of UNESCO are based on the goals and concrete objectives of the international community, made effective by means of the development objectives that have been internationally agreed on, such as the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs)

Colombia has been a part of UNESCO since the 31st of October of 1947, after the approval of the provision stated in Law 8 of October 15 of 1947 “by which the adhesion of Colombia to an International Agreement is authorized”.

The activity of Colombia before UNESCO in France is conducted through the Colombian Delegation to this agency with headquarters in Paris. The role of the diplomatic mission with the other agencies that make up the National Commission for Cooperation with UNESCO and the Executive Secretariat in particular, have allowed achieving important results for the country in areas of its interest, the promotion of its priorities and the defense of its positions.

UNESCO, as an International Organization, has governing and subsidiary bodies. To date, Colombia is a member of the General Conference and of the following subsidiary bodies:

1. International Coordinating Council (ICC) of the Man and the Biosphere (2008 – 2011)

2. The Intergovernmental Bioethics Committee (IGBC) - (2008 – 2011)

3. Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (2010 – 2011)

4. Intergovernmental Council of the International Programme for the Development of Communication (2008 – 2011)

 5. Intergovernmental Council for the Information for All (IFAP) (2009 – 2013)

National-level bodies: Derived from the participation of Colombia in the subsidiary bodies of UNESCO, national committees leading the different topics in the action framework of the Organization have been strengthened.   The following sub-committees have been created at the national level with the purpose of strengthening UNESCO’s activities in the country: 

  • World Heritage National Intersectoral Commission
  • Colombian Commission on the Ocean
  • Inter-sectoral Commission on Bioethics