Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

CARICOM is an integration mechanism established on July 4, 1973, upon the signature of the Treaty of Chaguaramas. Colombia is currently an Observer and subscribed a partial scope agreement with this organization in 1994.

The Caribbean Basin is a natural area for Colombia and a priority of our foreign policy. Actions fostering greater joint tasks are conducive towards ensuring the integral development of the region.

President Juan Manuel Santos participated at the XXXII CARICOM Heads of Government Conference that took place in Saint Kitts and Nevis, country that is currently responsible for the organization’s Presidency Pro Tempore until 2012. The President took advantage of this scenario to convey the country’s interest in maintaining an active and cooperative relation with CARICOM and its Member States, enhancing cooperation, trade and shared security issues and inviting CARICOM Member States to participate in the VI Summit of the Americas.