Latin American and Caribbean Economic System (SELA)

The Latin American and Caribbean Economic System (SELA) is a regional intergovernmental organization that groups 28 Latin American and Caribbean countries. With headquarters in Caracas, Venezuela, SELA was established on October 17, 1975 by the Panama Convention.

Members: Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Chile, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, México, Nicaragua, Panamá, Paraguay, Peru, Dominican Republic, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Its main objective is to provide the Latin American and Caribbean region with a system of consultation and coordination for the adoption of common stances and strategies on economic issues in international bodies and forums and before third countries and groups of countries.

It also aims to foster cooperation and integration among the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.