Multi-lateral Cooperation

Colombia established multi-lateral cooperation relations as of the decade of the 50s, mainly with the United Nations system. Since then, 23 agencies, programs and organizations have come to Colombia in order to provide the Colombian Government with technical and financial cooperation to reinforce its capacities in the aspects of human, economic and social development.

Thus, the Colombian Government and the United Nations System have worked on the joint definition of programmatic cooperation strategies and instruments in line with national priorities, as well as on the implementation of follow-up and evaluation mechanisms.

Joint cooperation of the System is defined in 2008-2012 UNDAF - The United Nations Development Assistance Framework, which defines four strategic areas:

     1.  Poverty, Equity and Social Development.

     2.  Sustainable Development.

     3.  Social State under the Rule of Law and Governability.

4. Peace, Security and Reconciliation.

Between 2007 and 2010, the National Government also signed nine Country Programs/Frameworks of Cooperation and a Prolonged Help and Recuperation Operation with UNDP, UNICEF, UNFPA, WHO/PHO, IMO, FAO, IFAD, UNHCR, UNOHCHR and WFP.