Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC)

The Pacific Economic and Cooperation Council (PEEC) founded in Canberra, Australia in September 1980, has the purpose of promoting cooperation in the Pacific Basin. Colombia has been a member since 1994.

PECC is an independent agency of tripartite nature (government, academia and private sector) which formulates policies on business alternatives, coordinates work programs on trade and investment, and identifies opportunities and obstacles for businesses and governments. In that sense, it makes recommendations to APEC and other organizations such as the Asian Development Bank.

PECC is a tripartite network of national committees with representatives of public, private and academic sectors.

Member countries: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Colombia, South Korea, Chile, China, Ecuador, USA, Philippines, Hong Kong China, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, Thailand, Taipei China, Vietnam, the Pacific Islands.

Institutional members: TFAP (Trade Pacific Conference on Development), PBEC (Pacific Basin Economic Council). Associate Member: France.

Colombia has been a full member since 1994 and its Committee is the Colombian Council for Cooperation in the Pacific COLPECC, chaired by the Foreign Minister. COLPECC was established in 1987 by Decree 1410 (July 28) as the Government's Advisory Council under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Its structure was updated in 1992 (Decree 1373) and the regulations were adopted in 1994.

Colombia’s participation in PECC through COLPECC has allowed it to position itself in an articulated and coordinated manner with the National Government and the private and academic sectors within the Asia Pacific regional architecture and thus, get closer to APEC and ASEAN.