logo gov.co
Logo Cancillería

Andean Community (CAN)

The Andean Community is a natural integration area for Colombia. Throughout its reinforcement process, the nation has actively participated in the preparation of the Andean Strategic Agenda, a document that shall gather all topics of interest shared with Bolivia, Ecuador and Peru.

The Andean Community is committed to implementing the Andean Strategic Agenda, a document that identifies 12 thematic axes on which the integration process must focus over the following years: citizen participation; common foreign policy; trade integration and economic complementation, promotion of production, trade, and sustainable consumption; physical integration and border development; social development; environment; tourism; security; culture; cooperation; energy integration and natural resources, and CAN institutional development.

Creation: Cartagena, May 26, 1969, upon the signature of the Cartagena Agreement.

Type of Mechanism: Integration.

Members: Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru

Objectives: Promote balanced and harmonious development through integration and economic and social cooperation; Step-up growth and job creation; and facilitate their participation in the regional integration process, with a view to the gradual formation of a Latin American common market.

Presidency Pro tempore: It is assumed for a period of one year by the country that assumes the Presidency of the Presidential Council following an alphabetical order. Colombia currently holds the Presidency Pro Tempore until July 2012.

General Secretariat: Executive body of the Andean Community, based in Lima. Currently, there is no Secretary General, which is why Mr. Adalid Contreras Basipineiro is acting as Secretary ad interim.

Common Foreign Policy: CAN has established Political Dialogue and Cooperation Mechanisms with India (1993), China (2000), Russia (2001), México (2006) Panamá (2007) and the EU (2003). There is also a Specialized Mechanism on Drugs with the EU.