• Establishment of diplomatic relations: Colombia’s relations with the Bahamas and all independent Commonwealth Caribbean States practically date back to the time when these countries were born into independent life, after separation from the United Kingdom. The following table summarizes the establishment of diplomatic relations between Colombia and the aforementioned nations, in chronological order:



Trinidad and Tobago

22 February 1968.


01 February 1972.


26 August 1977.

Saint Lucia

05 December 1979.


09 December 1980.


09 January 1981

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

17 Mar. 1981.

Antigua and Barbuda

18 March 1982.

Saint Kitts and Nevis (Saint Christopher and Nevis)

01 January 1984

Bilateral relations with Colombia

With the purpose of strengthening relations of Colombia with the Eastern Caribbean, the Colombian Government requested and obtained the approval of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago to establish a resident mission at the Embassy level in Port-of-Spain. The new Embassy in Port-of-Spain would also be accredited before the Association of Caribbean States. In this way, the Government of President Santos has sent a clear signal with respect to the importance it attaches to the Eastern Insular Caribbean as part of the Colombian foreign policy.

  • The Embassy in Havana, Cuba, is concurrent for the Bahamas.
  • The Embassy in Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, is concurrent for Barbados, Grenada, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.
  • The Embassy in Kingston, Jamaica, is concurrent for Antigua and Barbuda, Saint Kitts and Nevis and Dominica and Saint Lucia.

Colombia and the Eastern Caribbean countries are aware of the need for cooperation in security in order to counteract the activities of transnational criminal networks. For this reason, on three different occasions, Colombia has supported and led cooperation activities for countries such as Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados and other islands, sending security equipment and personnel to cooperate in the organization of several important events, such as the Fifth Summit of the Americas in Port-of-Spain in April 2009, the Cricket World Cup in several Caribbean countries in 2007, and the British Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in Port-of-Spain in 2009.

Moreover, a significant number of citizens and entities of the Bahamas and Eastern Caribbean insular countries have benefitted from the five (5) areas of the Colombian Strategy of Cooperation for the Greater Caribbean: bilingualism, disaster prevention and response, academic mobility, nutrition security and vocational training.

Treaties in force between Colombia and the Independent States of the Eastern Caribbean:

With Trinidad and Tobago

  • Agreement through Exchange of Notes on the Abolition of Visa Requirements. (Port-of-Spain, 14 December 1973) Colombian Note 383 and unnumbered Note from Trinidad and Tobago.)
  • Agreement on Bilateral Police Cooperation, of March, 2006.
  • Framework Agreement for Technical and Scientific Cooperation between the Government of Trinidad and Tobago and the Government of the Republic of Colombia (Port-of-Spain, 17 August, 1995). Enacted in Colombia through Law 327/1996 and declared constitutional by Constitutional Court Order C-379/1997. Colombia notified the other party about the fulfillment of its internal requirements with Note DM/OJ.AT. 057841 of 11 November 1997, but there is no record in our files of Trinidad and Tobago having issued the relevant notification. As a result, the agreement is not currently in force and therefore, although the parties have shown their willingness to carry out the Joint Commissions for Cooperation, it is necessary that the framework instrument enter into force.  Notification from Trinidad and Tobago is still pending.

With Barbados:

  • Agreement on the elimination of visa requirements on all types of passports between Colombia and Barbados.
  • Agreement on Technical and Scientific Cooperation between the Republic of Colombia and Barbados. Signed at Bridgetown, Barbados, on 20 November 1984.

With Dominica:

  • Agreement on Technical and Scientific Cooperation between the Republic of Colombia and Dominica. Signed in 1981.

With Saint Lucia:

  • Agreement on Technical and Scientific Cooperation between the Republic of Colombia and Saint Lucia. Signed in 1981.

Other Eastern Caribbean Insular States:

  • There is no record of any bilateral agreements negotiated or signed with Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, or Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.
Boton aumentar tamaño de letra Boton disminuir tamaño de letra Boton Contraste