Diplomatic relations between Colombia and Ecuador began on February 10, 1832. The Colombia – Ecuador border stretches 586 kilometers. The border agreements are: the Suárez – Muñoz Bernaza Treaty of July 15, 1916 and the Liévano – Lucio Convention of August 23, 1975.

The both countries have embassies in the capital cities of the other country: Quito – Bogotá, D.C.

On November 26, 2010, in the framework of the UNASUR summit in Guyana, and pursuant to the agreements embodied in the “Road Map” agreed by the two countries in September 2009, Presidents Rafael Correa and Juan Manuel Santos announced the full restoration of diplomatic relations and the upcoming appointment of ambassadors.

Currently relations with the sister Republic of Ecuador are conducted via direct and frank dialogue, on the basis of mutual respect and full adherence to international law. In this sense, the latest meeting of Foreign Ministers declared that relations between the two countries shall make us of the channels agreed with the newly established Colombia-Ecuador Neighborliness Commission, recognizing this as the bilateral political and representative mechanism, responsible for promoting integration, cooperation, and binational development, and as an agile and expeditious tool for the formulation, implementation, and monitoring of border projects of joint interest.

Furthermore, in order to deal comprehensively with the border, joint work has been done to address the Colombians who are living as refugees in Ecuador, by means of a Binational Commission that has laid the foundations for a Plan of Action on the subject; and recently the Binational Border Plan for Prosperity and Good Living was launched, which aims to strengthen integration, social and economic development in the border areas, by working together on six areas, namely: I) Environment; II) Economic and production; III) Social; IV) Innovation and technology; V) Infrastructure; VI) Risk Management and Response.

Recent high-level meetings

  • Extraordinary Meeting of Heads of State of the Andean Community. Bogotá, D.C., November 9, 2011.
  • Foreign Minister Meeting within the Framework of the 11th Ibero American Summit of Heads of State, “Transformation of the State and Development.” Asunción, Paraguay, October 28 and 29, 2011.
  • Foreign Minister Meetings within the framework of the Colombia-Ecuadorn Neighborliness and Integration Commission. Ipiales, September 29, 2011.
  • Meeting of Foreign Ministers to sign the Memorandum of Understanding through which the Colombia-Ecuador Neighborliness and Integration Commission was restructured, Lima, Peru July 22, 2011.
  • Visit by the President of the Republic of Ecuador, His Excellency Rafael Correa, on May 5, 2011.
  • Meeting of Foreign Ministers in the framework of UNASUR, March 10, 2011 in Quito.
  • Foreign Ministers’ Meeting on February 24, 2011 in Bogotá, D.C.
  • Bilateral meeting between Presidents Juan Manual Santos and Rafael Correa in the framework of the UNASUR summit on December 26, 2010 in Guyana.
  • Meeting of Foreign Ministers on August 26, 2010 in Ipiales.

Bilateral mechanisms

  • Colombia-Ecuador Neighborliness and Integration Commission
  • Colombia-Ecuador Binational Border Commission (COMBIFRON).
  • Demarcation Joint Commission.
  • Colombia-Ecuador-UNHCR Tripartite Mechanism, to address displacement in border areas.
  • Meeting of Senior Immigration Authorities.
  • Colombia-Ecuador Joint Commission on Drugs.
  • Technical Cooperation Joint Commission.
  • Commission on Security and Crime Control.
  • Commission for Border Development.
  • Commission on Sensitive Issues.
  • Binational Commission to address the issue of Colombian refugees in Ecuador.

Main agreements

  • Memorandum of Understanding between the Republic of Ecuador and the Republic of Colombia which restructures the Neighborliness and Integration Commission between the two countries, 2011.
  • Joint statement by the Ministers of Defense through which COMBIFRON is created, 1996.
  • Agreement by the Republics of Colombia and Ecuador for the Recovery and Return of Stolen Cultural Property, 1996.
  • Agreement by Colombia and Ecuador on the Transit of Persons, Vehicles, River and Sea craft, and Aircraft, 1990.
  • Memorandum of Understanding on Trade, 2011.
  • Binational Program of Action to Strengthen Border Security, by the Defense Ministries of both countries, 2011.
  • Action Plan for the attention to Colombian refugees in Ecuador and a return plan.
font + font - contrast
  contrast contrast contrast
  Cancilleria transparente

Academia Diplomatica

Plan Fronteras

Diplomacia y cultura


Corte internacional