Land borders

The land borders were the first to be defined by Colombia in order to establish the real dimension of our territory. This process, which lasted over one hundred years, led to the establishment of international boundaries with the neighboring countries of Brazil, Ecuador, Panama, Peru and Venezuela. The task was initiated by the former "Office of Longitudes and Frontiers" of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, which later led to the creation of the Agustin Codazzi Geographical Institute.

Both natural and imaginary boundaries are used in the establishment of borders. Natural or arcifinious borders comprise water courses or sources, separations or divisions of water bodies, while imaginary boundaries are geodesic lines which in turn are divided into geographic parallels and meridians, as well as lines that do not follow the direction of the four cardinal points.

Even though Colombia's land borders are clearly defined, they are not adequately marked, due to the fact that certain areas consist of dense forests or are very sparsely populated, or because this was the case when the borders were originally delimited. Ever-increasing advances of civilization into these regions makes it imperative to implement a more detailed and less separated demarcation system.

The Republic of Colombia shares land borders with five (5) countries:

  • Brazil
  • Ecuador
  • Panama
  • Peru  
  • Venezuela


Archivos Adjuntos: 
Mapa de las fronteras terrestres1.32 MB
font + font - contrast
  contrast contrast contrast

Alianza del PacíficoMigración ColombiaPoryecto MesoamericaColombia Nos UneBiblioteca de Tratados